Kelso Scotland home | civic week | tourist information | history | local
Kelso Scottish Borders
home / kelso organisations

Kelso Community Council

Kelso Community Council News


The Council consists of ten elected members of the community of Kelso who serve a term of office of four years. They are joined by the three elected members of Scottish Borders Council who represent Kelso. The Scottish Borders Councillors have no voting rights.

Meetings are chaired by 'The Provost' who also presides at civic events.


Kelso Community Council has no statutory authority or powers. It does, however, act as an advisory and consultative group on all matters affecting the town.

It is consulted on the provision of services by Scottish Borders Council, Lothian and Borders Police, Borders Health Board, the Scottish Executive and numerous other statutory and voluntary bodies.

It makes comment on planning applications and issues affecting the town and it pursues matters of concern raised by community groups and individuals in the town.


Kelso Community Council meet on the second Tuesday of every month (with the exception of July and August). Meetings are held in Kelso Town Hall at 7 p.m.

Current Members

The current elected members of the Council are:

  • John Bassett
  • Matthew James Boulton
  • Ian Brown
  • Peter Cooper
  • Alan Hall
  • Elizabeth Hodges
  • Gavin Horsburgh (Vice Chair)
  • James McCombie
  • Colin McGrath
  • Harry Tomczyk
  • Kerry Yule
  • Dean Weatherston (Provost and Chair)

The Local Authority Council Members are:

  • Simon Mountford
  • Euan Robson
  • Tommy Weatherston

Secretary & Administration

The Secretary of the Council is Shirley Redgrave
Email: [email protected]

Kelso Scotland, Scottish Borders UK